YogiGirl Myakka City, Florida
 
REVIEWS

Florida (2014 to present) New York (2006 to 2013)

       Casa Calm Yoga Retreat Center
    TripAdvisor.com
      5 stars - Pat and Dave from Minneapolis, Mar 2016
      The name says it all, peaceful and calm.
      "We spent 5 days at this yoga retreat. We don't usually do yoga but other reviewers mentioned how relaxing this place was even if you do not do the included yoga sessions so we decided to book it. We did end up participating in 2 yoga classes with Sandi and plan to continue beginner yoga back home. Sandi and Stu have a beautiful home and were wonderful hosts, always willing to give us tips of places to visit in the Sarasota area. For our day at the beach they supplied the beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. They provided a wonderful, healthy breakfast each morning and even had the coffee set up to be ready for my early rising husband. We enjoyed breakfast out in the large screened porch with a view of the lake."
      Liked best: "Peaceful and quiet, a wonderful retreat after a busy day sightseeing!"

      5 stars - John from Sebring, FL, Mar 2016
      A positive experience we will remember for a lifetime.
      "Sandi and Stu are gracious hosts. Breakfast was fresh, healthy & generous each morning. The view from the lanai is very peaceful. Sandi's Yoga practices where tailored to my beginning level, only at it for a couple months. Her shared incites really helped me better understand Yoga's purpose and potential. Everything was kept spotlessly clean and fresh. Great place to kick back, relax, read."
      Liked best: "Sandi's yoga instruction."

      5 stars - Velvet from Byron, Illinois, Nov 2015
      Get your calm on here...
      "Excellent rental experience with great hosts. Comfortable surroundings and great yoga instruction included. Only 30 minutes from whatever you want to do. Quiet country setting. Stu and Sandi were very nice."

      5 stars - Don from Bonita Springs, FL, Sept 2015
      A wonderful, peaceful getaway.
      "We enjoyed ourselves very much at this bed & breakfast. We stayed for two days and participated in yoga sessions each day. The owner of the home is an excellent and professional yoga teacher who gives individual attention and positive feedback to her participants. The salt water pool provided an added bonus to our stay. We plan to visit again."
      Liked best: "The owners of home, yoga, and salt water pool."

      5 stars - Barbara from Keeseville, NY, Sept 2015
      A very relaxing and calming place to get away to
      "While visiting Florida and looking for something 'Off the Beaten Track' we found Casa Calm. Sandi and Stu were so welcoming, yet unobtrusive. We enjoyed exploring the area, including Myakka State Park, but especially appreciated the quiet beauty and seclusion of the veranda, where we sat poolside for hours listening to the birds and evening creatures, and watching a gorgeous sunset unfold. It was a wonderful respite from our busy lives."
      Liked best: "Ambiance and personal touches."

      5 stars - Harry from NJ, July 2015
      A Wonderful Place to Stay
      "I had a great visit at Casa Calm. Both Sandi and Stu made me feel most welcome. The quarters and all of the areas were very clean and neat. There were many little things provided that helped make the visit most enjoyable. Casa Calm is in a very nice setting. I did take yoga instruction from Sandi, who is extremely knowledgeable, most helpful and an excellent teacher. I enjoyed the pool as well. I would highly recommend Casa Calm without reservation to friends and family alike."
      Liked best: "The hospitality of the hosts, the cleanliness and the setting."

      5 stars - Lena from East Hampton, NY, Apr 2015
      Fantastic space, yoga, jacuzzi, pool, breakfast!
      "New, beautifully done rooms and bathrooms. The whole stay was really relaxed and enjoyable. Thank you Sandy for this retreat experience and I can't wait to come back next year!"
      Liked best: "yoga and pool"

      5 stars - Travelsou from East Cincinnati, OH, Apr 2015
      Perfect!
      "I stayed in Casa Calm with my busy 5 year old son. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day vacation there. I was concerned if it was an appropriate place for a 5 year old.... but it worked out great. Stu and Sandi are such lovely people that exude peace and harmony. My son loved them both. I was amazed at our vacation place. I fell in love with the house and its atmosphere. And... I loved the yoga, the organic breakfast treats, hot and strong coffee on the back patio. Highly recommend to anyone, who wants a tranquil place to get away. Driving through Myakka River area, the farms was meditation in itself. We ventured out to different beaches every day, which was about 30-1 hour drive depending on where you go."

      5 stars - Ann from TX, Apr 2015
      Terrific value
      "I chose Casa Calm because it was in my price range. But when I got there, I fell in love with the beauty that surrounds the place. On top of that, you can start the day with a yoga session! This is definitely the kind of gem you hope to discover in your travels."

      5 stars - Shelly from Brooklyn, NY, Mar 2015
      Casa Calm is a tranquil oasis.
      "From the moment we arrived at Casa Calm we felt welcome and relaxed. The accommodations are first rate. Each day a lovely breakfast was waiting for us and Stu and Sandi the inn keepers were happy to offer advice on which of the local sites to take in. Sandi is an awesome Yoga instructor with the ability to make sure a novice is doing the poses correctly as well as giving advanced practitioners challenging classes. Swimming in the pool and relaxing in the hot tub was a pleasure. Both are immaculately clean. There are some really cool books to read as well."

      5 stars - Andrea from Long Island, NY, Feb 2015
      Perfect weekend retreat
      "Sandi and Stu are the perfect hosts. Their home is relaxing and inviting with a spectacular private view. I had the pleasure of practicing yoga with Sandi while we both lived in NYC and was very excited to reconnect with her. She is an amazing teacher! They thought of everything to make us feel at home as well as provided us with a bunch of suggestions for sightseeing. Their home is a 1 hour drive from Tampa and 30 minutes from Sarasota airports. There are great restaurants / shops 15 minutes away or you can go further to downtown Sarasota / Bradenton which are both fun towns. Until next time!"
      Liked best: "Yoga / View / Sandi"

      5 stars - Debra, Jan 2015
      Lovely, clean home, warm hospitality, peaceful environment
      "Sandi and Stu are wonderful hosts. They thought of everything to make us comfortable and their home was a great pleasure to relax in, a very clean and laid back environment. We had several things in the area that we wanted to do and so only took part in one yoga class, which was a very small group with lots of one on one attention from Sandi, who is a very experienced and dedicated practitioner. Stu chose beautiful soft music and cooked delicious breakfast for us. My husband and I have been in the hospitality business for many years and really appreciate the good, thoughtful service there. The peaceful lakeside setting was a bit of a drive from the city but route had very little traffic and so was easy to navigate."
      Liked best: "Friendly, helpful proprieters"

      5 stars - Sandro from Switzerland, Jan 2015
      Fabulous...
      "Sandi and Stu: Wir haben den Aufenthalt bei euch sehr genossen. Thank you very much. Die Hausbesitzer sind sehr zuvorkommend und geben wertvolle Tipps. Im Preis inbegriffen war eine gratis Lektion Yoga, welche von der Hausbesitzerin durchgeführt wurde. Nach einem langen Tag im Auto genau das richtige. Das Haus ist sauber und besticht durch eine schöne Aussicht auf einen See. Das Haus bietet auch einen beheizten Pool. Das Zimmer, in dem wir genächtigt haben war sehr sauber, gross und mit einem angrenzenden Bad, was eine angenehme Distanz schafft. Es war nämlich das erste Mal, dass wir mit den Besitzern eines Hauses zusammengewohnt haben. Das Frühstück wurden von den Besitzern zubereitetet. Das beste Frühstück so far in Amerika. Wir wurden im Vorfeld auch gefragt, ob wir spezielle Wünsche hätten. Das Haus liegt ca. 20 Minuten von Sarasota, ist aber gut mit dem Auto erreichbar. Wir würden sofort wieder hier übernachten und haben das Haus bereits Freunden, die auch in Florida reisen, weiterempfohlen. So, thank you very much for your hospitality... We enjoyed the stay with you."

    AirBnB.com
      5 stars - Sarah, March 2016
      "Sandi and Stu were the perfect hosts! They made us feel very welcome and comfortable the whole time we stayed at Casa Calm. They took great care of us by making sure we had what we needed to have a relaxing vacation. Their house is beautiful and very clean. Sandi taught yoga each morning and she is an experienced and skilled teacher. We really enjoyed our conversations with Sandi and Stu and appreciated their recommendations for nearby attractions. Honestly, it was the absolute perfect place for us to vacation."

      5 stars - Jessica, Dec 2015
      "Really enjoyed staying at Casa Calm! Sandi and Stu were wonderfully hospitable-accessible and helpful, but not overbearing. Their home was spotless and beautiful, they provided great healthy breakfast options, and yoga was fabulous!"

      5 stars - Patricia, May 2015
      "When You reserve your room at Casa Calm I am here to tell you are you are signing up for "an Experience" not just a vacation or a night away from home. Sandi & Stu are FABULOUS hosts!! My words are not adequate to describe the experience that I had at their home. Their description does not do justice for what I felt while staying at their home. Both Sandi & Stu are down to earth, honest, loving human beings!! They are so helpful and accommodating... from the fabulous Yoga lesson that Sandi provided to the home cooked Organic breakfast Stu made to the soothing music in almost every room as well as out on the lanai. My two days stay provided much needed serenity and relaxation!!!! Their home was EVERYTHING they described and more, and immaculately clean! I Highly recommend these hosts and their lovely home!! I only wish their place was in my state....I can say if it was I would "treat" myself to at minimum 1 night per month at their place to help me stay in a 'mindful' state of mind."

      5 stars - Bill, May 2015
      "The house was very, very nice, in one of the neighborhoods where all the houses look about the same in an upscale neighborhood. Immaculately clean, had my own space, and the vibe was definitely calm. Minimalist decor. Nice lake, nice pool. Sandi and Stu was very attentive. Good breakfast. Felt a little uneasy being this calm."

      5 stars - Sarah, Feb 2015
      "Our two nights with Sandi and Stu were fabulous - wish we could have stayed longer! Communication with Sandi was quick and easy, and they were very flexible regarding arrival and departure times as well as scheduling for yoga. Sandi and Stu were excellent hosts - welcoming and friendly, yet allowed us privacy when we wished. The home and our room and private bath were very comfortable and extremely clean. Well worth the price. The home is fairly new - only about 8 years old - and at the end of a dead-end road within a quiet development/neighborhood. The lake in the back is quite pretty - we saw and heard birds from the lanai. The décor is minimalist, with comfy couch and chair in the living room looking out to the pool. Ask Stu about the radio collection! Breakfast was very fresh and tasty - for just the two of us, there was a good selection of juices (and real juice, none of that stuff with corn syrup), coffee, teas, yogurt, muffins, a loaf of bread, granola, and Stu's fresh-made yummy fruit salad. Stu made our eggs to order, very nicely done. We enjoyed breakfast each morning on the lanai next to the pool. Yoga with Sandi was a lovely way to start the morning. She adjusted well to our different experience levels. I wish I could find a teacher with her style here at home - she was attentive and caring, offered gentle feedback - and the practice was active and challenging yet relaxing and calming. Stu fired up the hot tub for us, and we spent some very pleasant time soaking under the stars. We would not hesitate to recommend Stu and Sandi to anyone who wants a bit of relaxation in the Florida sunshine."

      5 stars - Dan, Feb 2015
      "Sandi and Stu were great hosts at Casa Calm. Their welcoming was warm and personable and they made every effort to make me feel comfortable and at home. I was there for over a week and was able to settle into a nice routine as an artist working in the area. Their home is just as it is represented on the site....always clean and calm! They were also exceptionally accommodating of my particular needs such as giving me a place to store my bicycle, receive packages and the like. I enjoyed their company and found their recommendations re: the area very useful. As a photographer, painter and bird watcher I made three trips to nearby Myakka River State Park and loved every minute of it. Stu and Sandi shared in my excitement in photographing birds in their neighborhood. They are interesting and generous people who deeply care about their home and work. They also care about and respect one's need for privacy. In all, staying with Sandi and Stu was an great experience."

      5 stars - Claude, Feb 2015
      "Le B&B est très relaxant. Sandi et Stu sont gentils et accueillants. Merci à eux. La chambre est grande et impecable. Le petit déjeuner est copieux et varié avec des produits de qualité. Proximité (40 min) des plages de Sarasota, du Myakka Park, et des outlets d'Ellenton (30 min) Nous aurions également pu faire une séance de yoga mais n'en avons pas eu le temps. Nous recommandons ce B&B pour une étape de détente!"

    Booking.com
      10 out of 10 stars - Debbie, Nov 2015
      Exceptional!
      "Super B&B near Myakka River State park. Very comfortable and relaxing place to stay - Sandi and Stu make you very welcome. Bonus of a yoga session with Sandi each day - we are complete Yoga novices but found the sessions really beneficial."

      10 out of 10 stars - Jeff, Jun 2015
      Very courteous and intuitive service!
      "Everything! Especially single family home setting was very homey and comfortable. Plus, enjoyed Yoga lessons very much!!"

      10 out of 10 stars - Michael, Apr 2015
      Wish we could have stayed longer to be able to enjoy it more.
      "Very clean, very hospitable x felt comfortable."

    BedAndBreakfast.com
      5 stars - Tara, May 2015
      Wonderful Zen Experience - Great Value!
      "When we travel we prefer to stay away from the traditional hotel venue. We always look for our favorite type of accommodation, Bed & Breakfast inns. Casa Calm in Myakka City, FL is a dream come true!! The perfect home-away-from-home. The hosts, Stu and Sandi are delightful. With a beautiful lake right in their backyard, the property could not be more peaceful and restorative. Their home is spotlessly clean, beautiful and serene. They serve an organic, serve-yourself breakfast (that was delicious!) and are happy to accommodate your schedule. The room was very Zen and uncluttered in design and stocked with everything you could want (shampoo, conditioners, soaps, towels, blow dryers, etc.) A fully screened-in patio gives you bug-free access to a heated saltwater pool, a jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor dining areas plus indoor and outdoor yoga rooms – all with that beautiful view! - AND you get a free yoga class with each night you stay!! Add free Wi-Fi, in-room Netflix, ensuite bathroom and a wall full of books to choose from. Stu and Sandi are welcoming, easy to be around, intelligent and all-around great hosts! We had wonderful conversations with them and quickly began to think of them as new friends. Sandi is a wonderful yoga teacher with a gentle, nurturing manner. You get a free private yoga lesson with each night that you book. On top of all that, the price is more than reasonable. A short 20-minute drive from Bradenton Sarasota airport takes you through the outskirts of the city of Sarasota through a forested area followed by horse country and then to Myakka City where your only night time interruption is the sound of the bull frogs. My husband and I wished we could have stayed longer and we would go back in a heartbeat!"

    BookYogaRetreats.com
      10 out of 10 stars - Lauren and Hilary, April 2016
      "I booked this trip as a gift for my best friends 30th birthday and we had an amazing weekend! The B&B is located in a rural residential setting, only 45 minutes from siesta keys beach and about 20 minutes from main street. It's an easy drive though, so I hardly noticed the distance, but that would be the only downside in terms of location. There was also a winery and a ziplining excursion place located nearby (maybe only 5-10 minutes away). The house was clean, breakfast was delicious (vegan or vegetarian), pool and hot tub spa were serenely beautiful with the overlook of the pond."

      "The highlight of our weekend was of course the yoga. Sandi is an amazing yoga instructor. Each practice (1 hour each day) was individualized to our needs and completely unique. The classes were different from typical flow yoga, they were slower paced so you could really stretch and breathe into your poses. I left feeling a much better appreciation for yoga and my own capabilities. I am grateful I had a chance to practice with Sandi."

      "If you are looking for a yoga retreat that provides a challenging practice and still allows you to go out, have nice dinner and a drink on the town, this is definitely the place for you. I hope to return to Casa Calm again soon :)"

      "I couldn't agree more! The hospitality was wonderful and Casa Calm was beautiful. I can't remember the last time I had such a relaxing and happy weekend :-) I would definitely like to go back there with Lauren again!"

      8 out of 10 stars - Tara, Nov 2015
      "It was a great experience. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. They gave me own private space but also made sure I was always doing something. They were very understanding that I didn't drive, and took me to the beach and a hike trip, even though that was not part of the deal. It was the perfect way for me to destress, and unplug from reality. The setting and ambiance of their house was a definite plus as well. Not to mention the richness of the organic breakfast that was prepared every morning. I will be sure to visit them again in a few years."

      8 out of 10 stars - Jennifer, June 2015
      "Case Calm was great, it was exactly what I was looking for and needed as a beginner. Sandi, the instructor teaches all levels from beginner to advance. It was not so intense that you couldnt keep up, and the private sessions helped me with my form and helped me understand the though process behind the breathing and each form. It is also in a location that is 30-40 minutes from beautiful hiking trails and beaches. At the end of the weekend, I was able to do poses that I did not think possible before."

NEW YORK: Reviews from 2013 and earlier

          
August 2013

Story of a College Yogi
Tales from the Mat


Practice Roundup: Week of 8/11/2013
Location: 92nd St Y
Teacher: Sandi Boerum
Style: Vinyasa


Coming to this class on Sunday evenings feels like a true Coming Home. You see, Sandi was my very first yoga teacher my sophomore year of high school. “We never know how we directly or indirectly influence people,” my dear friend and illustrator Julia told me the other week, as we immersed ourselves in a deep conversation as we walked around Union Square. This is most definitely the case for what my mind dwelled on when I thought about this class. Years later, after struggling through Sandi’s first classes with lopsided chatarangas and frustration at being unable to get my feet off the ground in Bakasana (crow pose), I became a yoga teacher and an advanced practitioner. In terms of asana, Sandi was the first one who revealed to me that I had a hyper-flexible back by showing me the walking up and down the wall trick for wheel pose. Now, I teach that trick with glee. Sandi remembered in the way that only phenomenal teachers do that I loved that trick and made sure that I was set up along the side of the room that didn’t have a ballet bar (oh hay practicing in cOMmunity centers again, especially one I call hOMe like the 92nd St Y). She also remembered my name and came up to me at the end of class. This blew my mind. Sandi was also the first teacher who introduced me to meditation. Her classes are 90 minutes long and we hold the poses after transitioning into them in fascinating ways that must stem from her own practice and play on the mat. We are, by deeply sitting in the asanas, preparing the body for meditation. At 7pm after the class ends, she offers up fifteen minutes of meditation with a gong to signal the start and end. Before we meditated, she read a phenomenal passage of Ram Dass. I sunk into the practice, sinking into the week, relieving the Sunday night blues in a way that I remember vividly from my high school self, from my beginner’s mind.

About the Author
Shira Engel is a yoga teacher and student at Wesleyan University, where she is studying Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and English. She is the author of the e-book Yoga U: The College Student's Tools for Balanced Living. She is the co-founder of WesBAM! Wesleyan Body and Mind, which seeks to make yoga accessible to college students. Shira seeks to create a college yoga movement that helps college students live integrated and holistic lives mind/body wellness in order to embrace and explore their full potential.


March 2013

Review of Bach Yoga event sponsored by WQXR and the 92nd St Y, posted on facebook:

    "BACH YOGA VERDICT: MORE PLEASE!"
    "The reviews appear to be unanimous: Yoga + Bach + 90 minutes = Bliss. Here's what a couple of participants had to say about the Bach Yoga event held earlier today at the May Center. Thanks again to WQXR Classical Radio for their partnership. We’re already hearing feedback that we should repeat the session."



December 2012

YELP review of my yoga class at the Church St. Boxing Gym:

    4 out of 5 stars
    Kristen B. of Astoria, Queens writes:

    "I almost don't want to write this review for fear that I will ruin Church Street Boxing Gym's best-kept secret: they offer 45-minute lunchtime yoga classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays! I was doing a random Google search for fitness classes near my office, and lo and behold, I found out that yoga instructor Sandi Boerum teaches classes here twice a week. You don't have to be a gym member to attend.

    The yoga class took place in the private back room, and there were only a handful of attendees, so we got a lot of individual attention and helpful corrections.

    Her lunchtime class was perfect -- I broke a sweat, but barely, which was great, because of course I had to return to the office immediately afterwords. I DID leave feeling relaxed and like I got a good workout.

    (Church Street Boxing Gym's website doesn't have a lot of information about the yoga classes, though it is mentioned on their schedule...I found the info on Sandi's website: http://www.yogigirl.com/…)

    I can't really speak for the boxing portion of the gym, obviously. It did look a bit gritty. The guy at the front desk was very nice; he did seem a bit surprised that I was there for the yoga class. I take it they aren't usually very well attended. Of course, that may change once everyone finds out about them!"



March 2010

YogaCityNYC review of my yoga class to live music with Stu Newman on guitar:





July 2010

YELP review at New Field Yoga:
    K.G. of Mohegan Lake, NY writes:
    "I've taken yoga & pilates classes here since it opened, and am mostly pleased. It's well located near the South St. Seaport. Owner keeps it very clean and it looks like new still -- bright and shiny. Instructors are very good, especially Sandi Boerum."



 


HOME      BIO      SCHEDULE      PRE/POSTNATAL      PHOTOS      WRITING      REVIEWS      TESTIMONIALS      CONTACT

Copyright © 2006 - 2017 YogiGirl.com.